I’ve just finished listening to Lionboy by Zizou Corder. This title came very highly recommended, which (being perverse) made me not want to read it. I ended up ordering our library an Audio version (as well as print) so I could listen to it whilst doing the ironing or some other boring domestic task. It is read by Simon Jones who was Arthur Dent in the BBC TV version of The Hitchhikers guide to the Galaxy (my husband points out that he was also in the radio version). He reads very well and there are some music sections that do not overwhelm the recording. I used to not like the addition of music to readings – seemed unnecessary but in some cases it truly does enhance the story. I am now looking forward to reading/listening to the sequel to the book, Lionboy: the chase. (I bought two copies for the library – it is a Western Australian Young Readers Book Award (WAYRBA) shortlisted book so I won’t have to wait to long to check it out)

