I had a fantastic day at work yesterday – I had a desk roster and 3 events to host so it could easily have been a disaster.

First up, during my desk roster we had baby storytime. Baby storytime is held at 11am monthly at the library. When I first went into the storytime area there was only one parent and baby waiting, so I did what I normally do to spread out the time whilst waiting for other participants to arrive, discussed the recent arrivals in the board books section of the library (we had 8 new books to look-over) as I finished talking through the new books I looked up and realised we now had 6 parents and launched the programme. I’m particularly proud of this weeks programme, I read Dear Zoo (Rod Campbell) , That’s not my fairy (usborne books)and Snuggle Puppy by Sandra Boynton. With the last book(Snuggle Puppy), I read it to the group and then played them the song from the CD “Philadelphia Chickens” and we all joined in! It’s a great song and then I played them “Belly button” which was also well recieved. The kids were all dancing around the story area.

Then after lunch, the library hosted a horse and carriage ride for the children on school holiday. This went down very well with the parents and the children. This was held in the cul-de-sac behind the library. I had put out a table with colouring in sheets and activity sheets for the kids to do whilst they waited their turn for a ride in the carriage. I even got a go! We went out to the end of the street and turned around and came back – it really was lots of fun.

I hosted a National Youth Week event at the library in the evening – it was a “Book Frenzy and Pizza Evening”. The concept for the evening was that I had arranged for a delivery of books on approval from a bookshop and the kids were to pick which ones should go into the library. We had 9 kids along and they made some interesting choices and finished 3 whole pizzas!! The staff were put out!

Leaving the library at 8pm, I was totally whacked. Thank goodness Friday is my day off!

