With J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince making its sensational debut last weekend I started thinking about children’s books. There have been a lot of wonderful ones over the years, The Cat in the Hat, Where the Wild Things Are, Bambi, the Mother Westwind stories, the Chronicles of Narnia, the Chronicles of Prydain, Nancy Drew, and on and on.

  1. As an adult, do you own children’s books? Yes! I still actively buy them for myself too (not just for the library).
  2. If you do, do you still read them even when there are no children around? Yep! I don’t see to much of my nieces and nephews and we don’t know too many other children. When Niall gets a little older I’ll probably read to him and share my favourites.
  3. What were your favorites as a child? Now? My sister and I really loved the My naughty little sister stories by Dorothy Edwards, Just William by Richmal Compton, Winnie the pooh (Milne), Milly Molly Mandy stories (can’t remember the author of those but I recently bought them for the library I work in for nostalgic grandparents). Dad has reminded me that I loved Meg and Mog (Pienkowski). Our absolute favourite that I can remember us enjoying was a book called Big sister and little sister (guess why) – Lucy still has that one.
    Nowadays I love Anthony Horowitz (he has done a fabulous series about a teenage spy – Alex Rider), Harry P – Natch and the Artemis Fowl books by Eion Colfer. I also really love picture books – I think that is mainly because I do storytime 3 times a week and when I share a book that “works” it is truely a “magical” experience – I love Bob Graham’s picture books (all time fav. is MAX), Lynley Dodd and Mem Fox, to name a few. We are so lucky – there are some really great writers for children out there at the moment.
