Time for Booking through Thursday…

Roger Zelazny’s Amber series, J.R.R. Tolkein’s Lord of the Rings, David Eddings’ Belgariad, and Stephen R. Donaldson’s Thomas Covenant trilogies, are all classic examples of fantasy. None of them are books either of my parents would ever consider reading. I’ve devoured them all… And more.

  1. Do you like to read fantasy? Yes, I do it’s my 2nd favourite genre (after mystery)
  2. What’s your favorite (or least favorite if you don’t like the genre) thing about reading fantasy? What I love – endless possiblity and as I’ve only really read “light fantasy” the happy endings! What I don’t like – often in trilogy / series things become a bit samey… I felt the Mallorean was pretty much the same as the Belgariad (shoot me!) This feeling is then reinforced (when you are me) if you read Belgarath the Sorcerer and Polgara the Sorceress.
  3. Do you prefer regular people placed in alternate realities, like the Thomas Covenant stories and the Amber books, or do you prefer the whole world to come from the author’s imagination? Or something else? I don’t think I have a preference… I like real people in fantastic settings more I guess… thinking of His Dark Materials which was sort of real people (but with thier souls apart from them as daemons (animal spirits – or at least that is how I interpretted it – its pretty dense))
  4. Do you have a favorite author or theme that you go back to again and again? I like the fantasy works of Diana Wynne Jones and David Eddings. Time to admit that when Joel read me The lord of the Rings I feel asleep a lot! I do however, like “the quest” as a theme
