Pick up the book that is closest to where you’re sitting right now.
OK I’ve done the real close book – it just happened to be non fiction. Below this is the closest piece of fiction…

  1. What are the book’s title and author? Embroidered Bags & Purses / Inspirations Books
  2. Turn to page 127. Locate the third paragraph, first sentence. Type that sentence here: Angela has always been interested in textiles and this evolved into a passion for dressmaking, patchwork and quilting as well as embroidery
  3. Does the sentence make sense out of context? I think so, but it ain’t all that interesting
  4. Seeing it sitting here by itself, out of the book, is it funny? Sad? Strange? Does it make you want to explore its source? I’m going to find the project she has designed in the book and have a critical look.
  5. Are you currently reading this book? Why? I am, I’m in research mode for my exchanges at present – want to jazz up my finishing a bit.

Closest piece of Fiction was…

  1. What are the book’s title and author? Flora’s Lot / Katie Fforde
  2. Turn to page 127. Locate the third paragraph, first sentence. Type that sentence here: “Most of our business comes from local people, who know about us”
  3. Does the sentence make sense out of context? Not really – I don’t even know what the book is about really.
  4. Seeing it sitting here by itself, out of the book, is it funny? Sad? Strange? Does it make you want to explore its source? It’s none of those things… but I do want to read this book – Katie Fforde is a hoot, romantic comedy is her usual fare and they are lots of fun.
  5. Are you currently reading this book? Why? Not yet – it’s in the “to read” pile which means one day it shall be (eventually).
