Butterfly pinkeep for Melissa
Originally uploaded by Cathymk.

I just got word this morning that my birthday present to Melissa made it across the pond. So with out further ado… here is the piece I did for Melissa in our Birthday Exchange on the SBEBB. I chose to do a butterfly by Just Nan from Just Cross Stitch’s annual ornament issue from the year 2000. I stitched it on some blue hand-dyed fabric (32ct) by Country stitch (I think it was called “Love in the Mist”). The butterfly just seemed to suit Melissa to me. Though now I know a bunny gift would have been right up her alley!
As usual I had some angst as to how to finish it – but as I had recently done a pinkeep for the garden exchange I had a bit of a fever for them and finished it the same way. I really like how it turned out in the end.

