Booking Through Thursday

This week’s questions about self-help books are from Nicki.

  1. Have you ever read a self-help book? a few
  2. What do you think about self-help books in general? In general I don’t like the genre. This has a lot to do with the fact that I work in a public library and have to deal with people who think they “need” to read the books, or have read the books are have a zeal to share what is in the books and advise me on how to live my life. I don’t take unsolicitated advice from total strangers very well. I know I sound like a grumpy pants- but there it is.
  3. Would you ever recommend a self-help book? No. But here are a couple I enjoyed which I will share with you – not as a recommendation, just what I liked in the past. When Joel and I hit a rough patch 3 years ago (we had a year apart before we patched it up and got engaged, then married) I read a few of these titles and I like what I read – SARK’s Bodacious Book of Succulance, Succulent Wild Woman and Transformation Soup were quite comforting and encouraging to read, I think she has a beautiful soul, and I liked the layout of these – very stream of conciousness-y. I also really enjoyed Cheryl Richardson’s Take time for your life – this one is has a positive message about priorities and goals.

Nicki – thanks for some great questions!

