Here is the ornament I sent to Katrina in New Zealand. It was designed by Eileen Bennett of The Sampler House and was featured in the 1999 issue of Just Cross Stitch’s Annual Christmas Ornament Issue. It was stitched on some 32ct Toitoi linen by Countrystitch with the called for fibres. I made the cording from Anchor lamé (the gold – very lush!) and some DMC light effects floss (shade unknown – I tossed the labels).

Katrina presented a challenge for me as she has stitched such a lot of ornaments (her album is in the sidebar of her blog) Katrina, I stand in awe! So I ended up selecting this one that she hadn’t as yet started which seemed to fit her likes and fitted my personality too (my slightly cracked sense of humor can be clearly seen in this piece). When it was finished I was very pleased with it – it is some of my best work – I know because I put up my tree this weekend and my ornaments of Christmas’ Past showed me how much my finishing has improved over the years.

I also sent along another one of those cute felt kangaroos – I’m going to have to run down to Myer on the weekend to see if they still have some in stock. Some nice Christmassy napkins and a hanging ornament card – oh yes, and some dinky dyes silk in Maddies Rose – I have to admit this is one of my favourite shades since the pink quaker exchange.

I had lots of fun choosing and stitching an ornament for you Katrina and I am so glad you like it.

