N is for Numbat and Nadine!
Originally uploaded by Cathymk.

I had some good news this morning, Nadine has received her “Trip around the world” exchange from me!

I stitched the letter N from Allura’s Alphabet which is featured in the book, Allura’s Australia in Cross Stitch by Jan Skinner. I was extra pleased when it turned out I would be stitching for Nadine as her animal in the alphabet is the Numbat – our state’s fauna emblem. I stitched him (or her) on some Australian Stitches and Spice hand-dyed fabric with DMC rather than the originally charted Semco thread (I didn’t have any in my stash). I used some wattle patterned fabric to finish it into a pillow (the wattle is our national flower).

As usual I sent along some extra little goodies – a Steve Parish wildlife book, a chart and some Stitches and Spice hand-dyed fabric and some Australian Gumnut’s silk. I’ve had a lovely note from Nadine saying she liked her package. Nadine has a rather nice pic on her blog of the pillow and the goodies

