Hello again friends,
Here’s a look at my most recent finish – Blackwork Beauty by Mary Hickmott (it’s supposed to be a christmas cracker). If you happen to have any back issues of the UK magazine: Mary Hickmott’s New Stitches, you will find the pattern in issue sixty five (there is also a rather fetching bargello cracker in there too).ย  I used to get this magazine fairly regularly but haven’t for a while.ย  I was browsing my back issues and my eye fell on this piece and it was a done deal.

Blackwork Beauty - Mary Hickmott

Blackwork Beauty / Mary Hickmott.

It is stitched on some 28ct linen I had languishing in my stash with some black silk (Needlepoint Inc 993) and Delica beads (034).ย  I cavalierly disregarded Mary’s finishing instructions and finished it more like a needleroll. There are several changes – the instructions would have had me inserting plastic canvas into the body of the cracker to reinforce the sides – which I just didn’t want to do! Actually I had no plastic canvas anyway – I just stuffed it very tightly. I also added hemstitch to either end to finish the hems, I rather like that effect. Look closely and you will notice I didn’t fold the hems to the same size – whoops! On the whole I’m very happy with how it finished up and am pretty pleased with my efforts!

Blackwork Beauty - Mary Hickmott

Blackwork Beauty - a bit closer in.


In Australia, it is Ash Wednesday today and it is the first day of Lent. I have already been severely tempted but so far I am holding strong to my vow to give up stash acquisition for Lent. I’ll keep you posted with my progress.

Until we next meet, I wish you many happy stitches.

