Hello friends,

This is a catch up post of sorts as I have been AWOL from this blog for a while – this has been such a busy time !  I have a couple of finishes to share with you; first up, here’s The Cotswold Sampler by Shepherd’s Bush.  I can’t remember the exact date this was finished but it was more than a month ago… I lost the finished piece for a little while, but I found it again and took a photo of it today to share with you all.  This was a kit I had in my stash and it is stitched with all the threads included as charted.

Cotswold Sampler / Shepherds Bush

Cotswold Sampler / Shepherds Bush

Another recent finish I was particularly pleased with can be seen on Su’s blog – I stitched an ornament for her as part of an exchange. Follow the link to her blog above and you will see her rather lovely photos of it – my own photo’s just didn’t show it to the best advantage.

Before I finish up and consider how I would like my new stitching year to take shape I’d like to show you my progress on my Purple Spot Mystery Sampler (now known as Patricia) by Stickideen von der Wiehenburg.  I have been stitching almost exclusively on it since I finished Mary Thompson.

Purple spot sampler progress picture

Purple Spot Mystery Sampler / Stickideen von der Wiehenburg

Looking pretty good, eh? Sorry about the creases, I didn’t feel like getting out the iron for the photo.  I’ve taken this photo out on our deck.  I still have a way to go with this one – I have completed 21 pages out of 35 (60%).  There are some partially completed pages in my workbook for this piece but I don’t count them till they are completed.   Here’s a link to my last progress photo to demonstrate how far I’ve advanced.

My goals from last year were to work on:

  • Beatrix Potter’s Quaker Sampler
  • Mary Thompson
  • Countdown to Christmas
  • Mystery Spot Sampler

I tried to set manageable goals for me – I work full time and have quite limited stitching time after all the faffing about on my arrival at home after a long work day.  I’m pleased to say I finished Mary Thompson and I think made good progress on the Mystery Spot and on Countdown to Christmas though that piece has not been picked up recently (once the countdown to Christmas started in earnest I started to concentrate on Mystery Spot – I’m a contrary beast!) I didn’t even start Beatrix Potter!  I had 11 finishes this year – not a huge number but I think they all count!

This year I’d like to:

  • continue to work on Mystery Spot till it is completed
  • continue to work on Countdown to Christmas (Blue Ribbon Designs)
  • start the Prairie Schooler Alphabet (I meant to start it today for the SAL but I didn’t have a piece of fabric sufficiently huge)

I’m going to leave my goals a bit open again – I aim to at least do these things, who knows, I may even achieve more!  So on that hopeful note, I’m going to leave this post.  Happy New Year to you all! I wish you all many blessings in the year to come.

Oh and one last thing:  these days I tend to mainly keep in touch with friends via Facebook (as a sort of micro blog) – if you are a member there you are welcome to make a  friend request if you wish – I would be glad to be friends with any of those of you who are still reading after this quite dry year of blog posts!

