Hello everyone, it’s time for a mid January stitching update. Would you believe I have started Beatrix Potter’s Quaker Sampler at long last? I’m using Hand Dyed Fibers Fish Pepper-ika for the main colour (and HDF Becreamed for the white colour) on cream Newcastle Linen. This is where I am up to as of this afternoon. I just hit a wall with the unfinished motif and had to unpick rather a bit. I will probably put this down for a week now (I tend to sulk when I have to frog!!)

Beatrix Potter's Quaker Sampler / Needleprint

Beatrix Potter's Quaker Sampler / Needleprint

I’ve also been making progress with Countdown to Christmas by Blue Ribbon Designs. I’m starting to believe that I may be able to have this completed for Christmas this year.  I am an optimist by nature I think.

Countdown to Christmas / Blue Ribbon Designs

Countdown to Christmas / Blue Ribbon Designs

Sorry to say, its very warm in Western Australia today (42.7c / 108 f) so I didn’t feel like getting out the iron to flatten these out for the photographs.

I’ve also been working on The Celtic Sampler – Wallace by The Needle’s Prayse, but as I have only completed the grid of double back stitch I’ve not bothered to take a picture of my progress.  I’m now ready to start the first motif.  Exciting times!

Work has been busy, stressful and to be frank, not much fun lately.  I’m due holidays but sadly I’m leading a recruitment process and I’m not allowed to take leave until the process has been completed.  I expect that I will be able to take leave mid February / early March-ish, so now when it all seems too much I fantasize about holidays in the South West of WA with my needlework.

On that happy (ish) note I’ll leave you.  Till next we meet, many happy stitches.

