Wombat pat and play session

Me and Shadow the Wombat enjoying a “magic moment”.

Last Wednesday morning at a very early hour I took a flight to the other side of Australia to visit the eastern states, Victoria to be precise.  I was off to The Craft Sessions!

After hours of internal debate about transportation, I ended up hiring a car and driving from the airport and staying a couple of days in the area to acclimatise/adjust to the two hour time difference/calm the heck down and then met up with the group on Friday.

I had two days to entertain myself – on Thursday, I visited The Healesville Sanctuary (an Australian Animal Zoo – completely fabulous).  I held a wombat in my lap and learned that this specific creature was really into natural fibres, she tried my shawl, cardigan and coat and found them all irresistible. I also enjoyed a “magic moment” with some kangaroos.  I also spent some time in Healesville town itself – nice place: I bought a lovely dress and enjoyed a visit to their craft store.  There are a couple more photos of me playing with the wombat and some kangaroos plus some others of the animals and grounds at Healesville Sanctuary here.

On Friday I drove into Healesville again (I had a massive headache and needed some pills) then took off for a drive up into the hills – gorgeous scenery; tiny bendy roads I was a bit frightened to pull off and take photos – not much of an emergency strip. After I did a loop and ended back up in Healesville (oops) I drove on to The Yarra Valley Chocolaterie and Icecreamery for a delicious interlude (The Hop for Hope Roos in the grounds of YVCI were gorgeous!), followed by a walk around Alowyn Gardens – beautiful garden (even at the end of winter) followed by a cup of tea.  Images from The Chocolaterie and The Gardens are viewable on Flickr (link to my albums).

Then at 2pm, it was time to go and check in at The Craft Sessions.  More about that in the next post.

*** The shawl I am wearing in this photograph is Ashburn by Melanie Berg (MarilynD).  I knit this last year using Plucky Knitter Bello Yarn (a cashmere/merino blend).  More details: Ravelry: Cathy’s 2nd Ashburn. If you are curious, here’s the first one I made: Ravelry: Cathy’s 1st Ashburn.

