I got my sewing machine back on Saturday morning.  Its been fully repaired – the spool holders are back in place and the bobbin cover has been replaced.  On Sunday morning, I set up my dining area as a sewing zone and set about re-finishing my project bag.

Here’s the result…

Image of the finished project bag

The finished project bag.

I was extra careful (still rather gun shy from my previous experience).  I used some washi tape on the machine to mark my seam line and used some iron on interfacing on the linen to give it some body and make it easier for me to control.  I had no difficulty this time around finishing it off.  I’m looking forward to my next sewing project (probably Colette’s Sorbetto)

It’s been a busy weekend.  In addition to picking up the machine on Saturday, I had to make a trip to the post office to pick up the coat I left behind in Melbourne (oops) and then met up with my sister and we went to the Luna Cinema in Leederville to see the documentary, Iris (about Iris Apfel).  We loved it. Then we had a bit of lunch before heading back to Lu’s place for tea on their back deck.  A lovely afternoon.

Sunday we had a leisurely morning and afternoon before heading off to Ellenbrook to catch with Joel’s sister and her family.  We had a lovely dinner at a local indian restaurant and I finished up the evening listening to music with my teenage niece.

Today is a public holiday in Western Australia, I’ve dropped off Joel at work (the university does not observe this holiday).  Once I kissed him goodbye, I took a long walk around the campus – it was a lovely time of day to take in the grounds.  Here is a picture of a rather pretty flower that caught my eye as I was walking back to the car.

Image of Pretty purple flower

Pretty purple flower in the grounds of UWA.

