At the beginning of October, I sheepishly admitted my too-lofty goals for the Plucktober knit-along hosted by the Plucky Knitter Group on Ravelry.

  1. Knit a cowl : River Deep Mountain High
  2. Knit a pair of mitts : Adrift Mitts
  3. Knit a shawl : Peak Color

Well, I completely surprised myself and met all my goals! With time to throw in a hat if I chose (I didn’t – I decided to rest on my laurels and go see the Martian yesterday afternoon instead: Completely AWESOME).

Here’s my two latest finishes: My Chilli Hot Chocolate Shawl (Peak Color)

Photo of Shawl

Chilli Hot Chocolate Shawl

Unblocked in this image (I had just run out to our back deck to take a few “huzzah it’s finished” photos).  This one is knit in a palate of browns/grey browns with a pop of red.  Most of the browns are from the “box of chocolates” gradient by The Plucky Knitter.

Colours chosen: I actually have a story about this – About a year ago I was sorting my stash – most of the browns in the shawl had just been delivered and I was trying to find a way to fit them in my study.  One of the cats was “assisting” me and managed to push the red onto the pile of browns – inspiration stuck! I had just been waiting for the right pattern to take the colour combo out for a spin – I LOVE the finished object, it’s scrumptious.

image of adrift mitts

The completed Adrift Mitts, superbly modelled by my other half.

I showed you half of the other finished object last time I posted.  I finished the other Adrift Mitt this week on Wednesday afternoon on my bus ride home.  Here’s a snap of my hubby posing with them.

I was weirdly bereft when they were done – I didn’t have a sock in Plucky yarn on the go, so for the last two days of last week my bus rides to and from work were a bit dull. I did have a sock on the go in some rather nice yarn but it was unthinkable to knit without making a contribution to my Plucktober goals.*

What’s next?

Two things I think I’ll start soon are:

Stephen West’s new mystery shawl: The Doodler. I have some Hedgehog Handworks hand dyed sock yarn winging it’s way to me (Colourway: Genie) from Convent and Chapel and I’ll pull some of my Plucky greys to complement it/tone it down.

Another Plucky Knitter Pattern: Candy Dish cowl – using all my Plucktober leftovers.  I kind of like the way the blue-purple fits in with the colours I had in my Peak Colour Shawl… I think it might work.  And the yellow and green from the lemons in the image below may also have to be found and wound… they are curiously lovely in this photograph (but probably too much, someone please talk me off the cliff!).

Leftover yarn image

Plucktober leftovers

* I was strangely driven this month.  I also lost a little weight by being very goal orientated in that aspect of my life (almost completely gave up chocolate – yes, I can’t believe it either).

