Goodness, it’s been nearly two months!

I’ve been busy not really achieving anything…

  • Traveled to Melbourne for work meetings for three days
  • Applied for a job in Canberra (but didn’t get it – strange relief)
  • Dad came to visit for a week (he’s based in Adelaide)
  • Traveled to Mt Barker for family Christmas
  • New Years spent with loved ones

What have I been knitting?

I finished my Reston Station Socks by Helena Callum.

22821110229_d90d504acf_z

Reston Station Socks – Completed!

Love them! And I like to think I understand kitchener stitch now… (preparing for crushing disappointment in 3…2..)

Next, using a free pattern and scrap yarn from my stash I knit 13 little gift hats for wine bottles, flavored oils and in one case bubble bath.  These became part of my commuter knitting for December.  My project page on Ravelry for these can be viewed here.

23450496011_3db1522b8f_z

Most of my “How ’bout a night cap?” finishes under the tree.

They were a quick knit – they took me at most, an hour each to knit up.  I used a clover pompom maker for these pompoms (my most successful pompoms ever).  Response to these little tokens was universally lovely. Would you believe I blocked each one? Strikes me as strangely obsessive!

Not having any socks or mitts on the needles got too much, so I cast on some Scurry socks with some Stray Cat sock yarn “Luigi”  and then frogged them (yarn and pattern not such a great match).  I’m now trying Susan B Anderson’s How I make my socks recipe (turns out I prefer magic loop or five needles over Susan’s four dpn method) with the same yarn.  Here’s sock number one in progress.

24012569142_a1be29ae58_z

“How I make my Socks” socks in progress  (pattern by Susan B Anderson)

I’ll post again shortly on my new years resolutions.

