Tags

Hello and welcome to the March 2016 state of the knitting report.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m kind of surprised I have a finished hat this month, I left it to the last minute to cast on and it wasn’t truly finished until April 1 ( I left it till then to make the pom pom).The Hat is the “Conversationalist” hat by The Plucky Knitter designs – I made the small size. I think this one will be a gift for my niece Cate (she’ll be eight this month!) I used Plucky Knitter Snug worsted for this, in the colourways Melba, Cake Plate and Twill.  I learned a new technique, the tubular cast on for this hat.

My other finish was a pair of socks – my Commuter rainbow socks made using Susan B Anderson’s how I make my socks recipe (a couple of changes this time: I used a two by two rib and used a contrast yarn for the heal and toes). Yarn for the socks is Lollipop Yarn Gripes in the Rainbow Connection Colourway and Cascade Heritage Solids in the Italian Plum Colourway.  I was amazingly lucky sometime last year and managed to bag some Lollipop during one of her updates.  These have to be the best fitting socks I have made for myself.  I LOVE them.

March was my birthday month so I treated myself to a new (somewhat self indulgent) cast on, I cast on Hunter Hammersen’s Sybaritic Socks using some Plucky Knitter Feet yarn from the Classics Club – this one is Taffeta Darling inspired by the film, Young Frankenstein.  I’m loving working on these socks, I don’t think I’ve done them absolutely perfectly (the centred double decreases don’t quite look right to my eye) but I love them anyway.  These are NOT a commute sock!  When I say self indulgent, I’m thinking back to  when I set my goals for myself this year – my intention was not to cast on new projects other than hats for gifts and socks (and for the socks, I was definitely expecting more simple socks to be the flavour of the year).

My other March cast on was a replacement commuter sock – these new ones are using “Reinebeck Sweater Weather” Trusty sock yarn by Nomadic yarns (this colourway is not available in her shop right now, but I’m very partial to her Harry Potter colourways – McGonagall, Sirius and numerous non-HP related ones, reminding myself of my goals and adding them to the wishlist!)

One of my birthday gifts was the Koko Bean Hat pattern from my lovely Tasmanian friend, Jeannie-maree.  I’ve cast it on as my April hat with Plucky Knitter  Primo Aran Babysitting Blues (from my Classics Subscription last year) and am working it on some double pointed needles (I’d really prefer to magic loop this but I couldn’t find a suitable circular needle).  A fun knit so far…

In other news, we spent Easter visiting my in-laws down in Mount Barker (4 hour drive south of us in Perth) – we had a lovely time catching up with them.  It was cold and wet and I delighted in wearing my handmade socks whilst we were there.

Dr K was very generous with my 42nd birthday gifts: a pile of books, a lego set, a beautiful box of watercolour pencils and a set of monogrammed towels (a hitchhikers guide to the galaxy reference – I’d joked the year he turned 42, that a set of towels would be a perfect 42nd birthday gift and he remembered!).  So spoilt.  Note: No yarn. Oh well, I do have plenty for my needs, really.

Wishing you a creative April!

 

