Tags

, , , , , , ,

April was a super productive month for me! I finished two pairs of socks and a hat and made progress on my “Plucktober leftovers cowl”. Here’s a collage of the finishes.

JQFE4710

My first finish this month was a Koko Bean Hat by Judith Carter.  The Pattern was a gift from my friend in Tasmania. My hat was knit with The Plucky Knitter Primo Aran in the Classics Colourway, Babysitting Blues.  It was a quick knit, I finished it in a weekend – it was a fun knit (it would have been even more fun if I had a set of empty circular needles to use instead of the metal DPNs  I used for this project).  This hat is not for the gift pile.  It’s all mine! (Of course now I have a 1 hat deficit in the gift hat pile).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Next up, I finished my Sybaritic socks by Hunter Hammersen. My socks were knit with Plucky Knitter Plucky Feet Yarn in the Classics Colourway, Taffeta Darling  I was a little afraid that these wouldn’t fit, as there isn’t a lot of give /stretch – but they are lovely in every way.  The first (right) sock is not exactly correct (I managed to confuse some of the decreases on the chart), but I am happy with these and will not be engaging in a ripping festival to correct the errors.

And my last finish for the month was another pair of “How I make my socks” by Susan B Andersen (My favourite sock recipe for commuting).

IMG_0662

My socks were knit with Nomadic Yarns Trusty Sock in the Rhinebeck Sweater Weather colourway with some Cascade Yarns Heritage Solids in Italian Plum for the contrast heels and toes.  There’s not much more to say about these other than I love them.  I had them on all day yesterday and my feet looked so cheerful!  What’s more they were toasty warm. We’re finally starting to experience autumn weather down under.

Other progress: I’ve picked up one of my WIPS that I want to finish this year… The Candy Dish Cowl by The Plucky Knitter I’m using the left over yarn from last years’ Plucktober knitting.  When we last saw this project, I was cursing myself for dropping a stitch in the lace section.  Now I am sort of motoring along having gotten past the intensely boring 46 rows of seed stitch.  I actually enjoy stockinette stitch more.

26468658060_fa3176013f_o

Things to look forward to: I think I’m also off to the Bendigo Sheep and Wool Festival in June – this will be my first time at that event.  A couple of Perth girlfriends have organised the accomodation in Bendigo, I just need to book my flight and hire a car (and figure out if I’m going to extend my stay in Melbourne or head straight back home).

Dr K and I are starting to make plans to take off for a week in the South West sometime in August.  We last did this a couple of years ago and we had such a lovely time.  The weather will be cold and blustery and we’ll enjoy setting up home somewhere luxurious and enjoying listening to the wind blowing and rain on the tin roof snuggled inside by the fire.

I also managed to register for the Craft Sessions this year – this event was super popular this year, it sold out in 5 minutes! More cut throat than a Plucky update and I’m right out of practice for those.  I’m looking forward to finding out which classes I will be going to soon.

Wishing you a productive May!